Board of Directors

This is how the board of directors is composed, with the each director’s post, type of directorship, date of first appointment to the seat and the date of the last re-election. To find out more about their professional background and other boards on which they sit, click on each director’s name.

DirectorPost on Board of DirectorBirth YearType of DirectorshipDate of first appointmentDate of last re-election
González Rodríguez, FranciscoGroup Executive Chairman1944Executive28.01.200011.03.2016
Torres Vila, CarlosChief Executive Officer1966Executive04.05.201511.03.2016
Alfaro Drake, TomásDirector1951External18.03.200617.03.2017
Andrés Torrecillas, José Miguel(*)Director1955Independent13.03.201516.03.2018
Caruana Lacorte, Jaime FélixDirector1952Independent16.03.2018-
Garijo López, BelénDirector1960Independent16.03.201216.03.2018
González-Páramo, José ManuelDirector1958Executive29.05.201317.03.2017
Kapoor, Sunir KumarDirector1963Independent11.03.2016-
Loring Martínez de Irujo, CarlosDirector1947External 28.02.200417.03.2017
Máiz Carro, LourdesDirector1959Independent14.03.201417.03.2017
Maldonado Ramos, JoséDirector1952External28.01.200016.03.2018
Peralta Moreno, AnaDirector1961Independent16.03.2018-
Pi Llorens, JuanDirector1950Independent27.07.201116.03.2018
Rodríguez Vidarte, SusanaDirector1955External28.05.200217.03.2017
Verplancke, JanDirector1963Independent16.03.2018-

(*) Lead Independent Director

Secretary/no Director: Domingo Armengol Calvo

Deputy Secretary/no Director: Rosario Mirat Santiago

Click on the link to the information from the public records of the CNMV (Spanish stock-exchange authority) to see the number of shares and stock options that each director owns in the Bank.

Board of Directors selection, appointment, rotation and diversity Policy.

Updated page 26 September 2018

We use third-party and own cookies for improve our services and showing the users advertising related to your preferences through the analysis of your navigational habits. If you continue browsing, we assume that you accept its use. More info

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.